Debutant Watch - Justin Menzie

boxrec

http://static.boxrec.com/wiki/1/17/Justinmenzie.jpgDebutant Watch features Ilford‘s Justin Menzie, who debuts at the famous York Hall, Bethnal Green this Saturday on a Goodwin Promotions card and has been matched against Lincoln’s Rick Boulter in a four round light-middleweight contest.

Justin, 30, has just gained his amateur coaching badge and while pursuing his own boxing career under the tutelage of experienced trainer Rod Julian, he intends to give something back to the community by training youngsters around the Hackney area.

What made you want to start boxing?

“I didn’t come from a boxing background, it was just a case of living local to the Lion club which was a five minute walk from my house. The gym was so close so I just though I would give it s shot. After I started training I just loved it and after six weeks I had my first amateur fight.”

Did you have a boxing idol when you were younger?

“As a kid I never followed boxing, I moved to London with my mum when I was 10 and back then my main sport was basketball. I started following the sport when I was actually boxing myself and ever since then my boxing idol was Mike Tyson, I liked him because he was fearless and I take that attitude too. Gary Russell Jnr is also a fighter who I admire because he is a southpaw like myself.”

Did you do much amateur boxing?

“I had 16 amateur fights for the Lion Club in Hoxton, I also trained at Haringey boxing club for a while but my loyalty stayed with the Lion Club.”

How do you know the time is right to turn pro?

“I have felt ready to turn pro for a while now, it's has just been a case of meeting the right people. Now I am working with Rod Julian and Steve Goodwin I feel ready. As soon as I started training with Rod he said he could see some ability and opened up the door for me to turn pro. After my first 5 amateur fights I knew I wanted to turn pro one day.